Prep for Autism

When I was a little girl I didn’t fit in very well I wore dresses when the other girls wore jeans. I had a different family from the other kids at school.  Although at home those were the happiest years of my life at school they were hard and traumatizing.  I spent a lot of lunches alone, I made up songs, I read books everything I could get my hands on even the encyclopedia.

My Aunt, her girlfriend and 2 kids lived upstairs from us. My little cousin was four when he passed away he was the size of a baby and still ate baby food. We called him ducky Warren. He didn’t speak very much but he had a smile that could light up the world. He was a very happy boy and we all loved him very much. That is when I started caring so much for the under dogs.

When my daughter was born I had a next door neighbor who liked to come over to play with her. I’m not sure of her exact disability, but she had the mentality of a child. She loved kids so I let her play with LPS whenever she was outside after a while I started letting her come in the house too but that was difficult because she would trip or slip on things easily and I was afraid of her getting hurt or breaking something. I let her play with my kids for years. She was around until My David was 2 when she started being hostile and ended up going to live with her mother in another state.

I think all of these things helped me to understand My David and prepared me to have patience with him. He may have a hard time communicating but he still loves. He may not fit in but he still is a kid and deserves to be loved. I truly believe that God gave him to me knowing that I was the mother he needed and that he was the son that I needed too. Before My David I thought that I was weak, fragile even. I thought that I couldn’t handle upsetting things, I couldn’t even look at my dad with out crying towards the end so I left. The worst part of that was that it was what everybody expected because that is who I was at the time. My David came and he only slept 20 minutes at a time, but I took care of him and he healed me by pulling that strength out of me. He looks just like my dad and that healed me too. Now I know that I would do anything for my kids even if it is hard they hold me together.

Leave a Reply

Twitter Updates

