Sleep?!

“I don’t like to sleep it’s too boring.” my little boy’s new favorite bed time saying. “I don’t want to go to school I’m tired!” his new morning saying.

My little boy was sick, 2 different illnesses 2 weeks of sleeping all day and not having to get up early for school. I knew it would be hard to get him back on schedule, but never expected this total revolt. I thought when he fell asleep at 8 o’clock  that we were back to normal, but that was a big joke on Mama. He woke up 2 hours later rejuvenated and ready to fight any efforts to make him sleep the rest of the night.

I’ve tried all of the tricks in my bag. He had a bath, sleepy time lotion which I hadn’t stooped to for at least a year now. Warm milk, comfy pajamas, a book or 12. I let him cuddle on the couch and watch cartoons even though my shows were on, but sleep was no where in sight. I kept him up during the day just one short nap which he always has. He finally goes to sleep after midnight only to wake up twice, I’m thinking night mares, and he sits up in bed until I convince him that he’s safe then he lays back down.

Meanwhile no sleep for Little Boy means no sleep for Mama! I didn’t even get a nap because I was busy grocery shopping while he was napping!  I’m a well known coffee drinker insomniac, but I haven’t been this sleep deprived since he was an infant. I’m not sure I awake enough for the day long fight, him fighting with My David, Little Pop Star and everybody else that so much as looks at him. He wouldn’t eat dinner last night either because he was to cranky to eat.

When asked if he had a good day at school he replied “No I don’t like school! I watch cartoons?” Back to the battle he has to give in eventually right?!

Update:

He is now going to bed when he’s supposed to, then waking up at 2 am crying to watch cartoons, it takes about a half hour to get him back to sleep. I may never have another full nights sleep : (

Leave a Reply

Twitter Updates

