Cable For Christmas

I was watching my son learn Mandarin from a cartoon and started thinking about all my kids have learned from these shows. When I was a kid Mandarin was just a type of orange, I also thought Chinese people spoke Chinese and Mexicans spoke Mexican.

It started early my kids learned words in English, French, Spanish, Mandarin and even American Sign language. Even I learned more from these shows than I learned in middle and high school Spanish class. They learned colors, my son even named he red puppy Rojo, which is red in Spanish. They also learned how to group things by color. They learned shapes, I think I only knew the basic ones going into Kindergarten, I still have to think hard about which is the hexagon. From there they began to identify numbers and letters. Then my little ones even figured out how to put the shapes, letters and numbers into patterns. It doesn’t even stop with general learning, the characters have problems where they have to make friends, make up with friends and even talk to adults they don’t know. Not to mention the problem solving skills they learn. I wish I could explain how important that is for an Autistic child. My kids also have interest that I wouldn’t even know where to start teaching them about it. My boys like cars, trains and dinosaurs. My extent of knowledge is on short supply there. I think I knew 6 types of dinosaurs before. My daughter likes to learn about wild animals and foreign lands. All that I know about those things are from books I read as a child and television shows that I currently watch.

So maybe cable should be part of my educational budget what do you think. The kids have enough books, they are falling off the shelves. Their toy boxes are over flowing so maybe for Christmas Santa could help with the cable bill.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. pozycjonowanie warszawa
    Dec 12, 2011 @ 16:11:16

    While this subject can be very touchy for most people, my opinion is that there has to be a middle or common ground that we all can find.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Twitter Updates

